Thoughts on Happiness.

It is Memorial Day weekend. For the first time in a long time, some of my friends came up to visit Maine from Philadelphia and New York City. We spent a lot of time, just the three of us, talking about life. They would ask me for stories and I realized that I didn’t have very many. I live by myself in secluded house working a job that does not fulfill me.  Most nights I come home and try to figure out how long I could survive on the money I have saved up in my bank account.

That just isn’t the way I want to live my life. To be 24 and feel stagnant in life is terrifying. People still ask me ‘what do you want to be when you get older’ and I honestly have no idea; even though I’m a fully functional adult and should know these things. I feel like I could do so many things and be happy. It really depends on the people I’m surrounded by. Because that’s what life is about right? The people in it that make moments memorable?

So having my friends come and visit me is making me want to do something. Go on a journey to discover what I want from life. One of my bucket list goals is to visit a state park in every single state in the US. Why not get started now? Summer is a particularly great time to visit the northern states (definitely for driving…not as much snow) so I’m going to plan a trip through the north west. Hit as many states as I can. A lot of state parks have camping as well so I’ll camp my way across the US.

I just need to start ignoring the little voice inside my head that says I can’t do it because of XYZ. Because that’s crap. I can definitely do it. I just need to figure out a route and start packing.

Leave a Reply

