Bradbury Mountain : the park that started it all

Some of you may wonder what the deal is with my fascination with state parks. I spent the first sixteen years of my life living at two different state parks in Maine. The one I most remember is Bradbury Mountain State Park, a relatively small, day use park great for little kids and popular with mountain bikers.

IMG_2188It isn’t an experience that I would change for anything in the world. It was a great privilege to grow up there and I think that’s why I love spending so much time outside (thanks Dad). Even when the park was crammed with leaf peepers on a crisp fall day and we had to navigate through them to actually leave the house, nothing would make me wish I had lived in a ‘normal’ suburban neighborhood.

I loved growing up there, knowing the park rangers and being able to hike all over the mountain by myself once I got old enough. It’s because of this love for where I grew up that I want to explore what other states have to offer. I’ve already gotten a few checked off; Maine (obviously), New Hampshire, Vermont,Massachusetts, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Arizona. So that’s only seven states out of fifty? I’ve got a long way to go, and I’m going to love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

